Idaho Enhanced CCW Class
The Enhanced License is the premier license available for those who travel and is the prerequisite class for individuals to apply for the Idaho Enhanced Concealed Carry Permit. Beginning July 1, 2013, Idaho began offering two options for conceal carry permits: the Standard CCW permit and the Enhanced CCW.
YOU CAN NOW GET A ID CCW AT THE AGE OF 18. 18 to 20 —YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE ENHANCED CLASS AND YOU WILL BE ISSUED THE STANDARD ID CCW UNTIL YOU TURN 21. THAN IT WILL BE UPDATED TO THE ID ENHANCED CCW.( 18-20 don’t qualify for OR CHL) IF YOU ARE 17 You can take the class now and apply for your license when you turn 18.
There are very few state licenses that have as great of reciprocity as the Idaho Enhanced License. The Enhanced License has been accepted by many states (these include the same states as the Standard Idaho license) and additional States such as New Mexico, Nevada, Washington, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia, to name a few.
The campus carry law has also passed and allows individuals with the Enhanced Idaho license to carry on public college campuses.
Note that Oregon only accepts their own license and does not accept the Idaho Enhanced License. As part of the Enhanced class we provide the Oregon certification to provide an even greater coverage.
The state of Idaho requires training in both firearms instruction and legal instruction in order to qualify for the Enhanced License. Therefore the Enhanced class is an 8 hour class with a 4 hour legal portion taught by an attorney, and a 4 hour range safety and live fire class. You will need your own handgun (NO SINGLE ACTION REVOLVERS), ammunition (100 rounds), and ear and eye protection.
For our 8 hour classes please pack a lunch as there are no restaurants nearby. For those taking the class through Sportsman’s Warehouse in Nampa, the shooting portion will be held at the
Rental firearms and ammunition will be available on a limited basis. Please contact instructors for details.